Urban Decay Oz the Great and Powerful Theodora Palette

Hi Pretties : )

I’m back, and I have swatches and a review for the Theodora palette. I have no idea who Theodora is or what part in the story she has, but I cannot wait to see the movie! I have seen trailers for it and from what I can gather she seems to be a witch that should be evil. In the movie, Theodora is played by Mila Kunis, and much like the actress herself… The first word that comes to mind when I look at the colors in this palette is “sultry”.

Image

Just like the Glinda palette, the Theodora palette is built exactly like the build-your-own palette. This will come in handy since you can replace the colors in the palette itself if you ever run out. On the outside is a black design on the top and bottom with a rainbow cloud backdrop. It looks almost as if there is some sort of light shining in the background trying to shine through the clouds. Something I had mentioned in the Glinda palette review and will mention again is that a downside to these palettes is that the mirror doesn’t stand up on it’s own so in some cases you might have to hold it up yourself or prop it up against something.

DSC02486

On the inside, the palette is full of gorgeous colors that are very suited to create day-to-night looks. Top to bottom, left to right we have Broken, Jealous, Bewitch, West, Spell, and Beware. I actually changed the order of the palette from how it actually came because I’m obsessive compulsive   I thought it looked better this way. Right from the box the colors are Broken, Beware, Bewitch, West, Spell, and Jealous. They put all the colors that start with “b” on the top row light to dark. Along with the super saturated lip color, the palette also comes with a 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil in Zero which I will not be swatching or reviewing because it’s a standard color in their regular line-up, whereas the eye shadows and the lip colors are limited edition.

ImageDSC02489

This is the Super Saturated High Gloss Lip Color in Theodora. This color is absolutely gorgeous. It glides on so smoothly and is so flattering. You can use this to create a “bitten lip” effect which is essentially close to the effect of a lip tint for a day-suited look or full on color that would look absolutely stunning for night. I am glad I was able to try this product in this color since I was super disappointed with the way Glinda looked on me.

IMG_4533

This color is Broken, it’s a light color that has peachy undertones. It’s shimmery and doesn’t have any of those famous UD glitter chunks in it. I really like this color in the inner corners of my eyes and will sometimes dab a little of this color in the middle of the lid to give my shadow a more 3 dimensional look. On the left side I have a swipe of the color without primer and on the right I have it with on top of Smashbox Photo Finish Lid Primer.

IMG_4534IMG_4538

These are the colors from Jealous which is absolutely appropriate for the colors. When I first took a look at the color I thought it would be called Envy but they might already have a color called envy. The first color is the darker green which actually looks more like a moss green in person. Closer to the bottom of the picture it makes it look like the green is more of a forest green but it’s much more light than that. It has small flecks of a white shimmer that goes almost unnoticed unless in the right light. The next picture is the lighter tone of the two, it’s more of a pastel green with the same flecks of white shimmer in it. It kind of reminds me of what green tea ice cream would look like if it was shiny.  Just like the other color the swipe on the left is without primer and the swipe on the right is with.

IMG_4539

This color is Bewitch, it’s a smokey dark brown color with the same sheerness found in the color Jealous. I know this doesn’t sound very attractive but it reminds me of the color of dirt, and is actually very pretty in person. When you hold the actual color pan and tilt it in the light the flecks actually look multicolored but it doesn’t really transfer onto the skin if you aren’t a huge fan of that.

IMG_4549

This color is West it’s a dark brown color and reminds me a little of UD’s dark horse when applied with a primer, which is in their regular line and can also be found in their naked palette. When applied without primer the color is sheer and the little sparkles are quite a bit more noticeable, but either way on my lids I don’t usually see the shimmers very much especially when I layer on multiple colors.

IMG_4544IMG_4547

These are the colors in Spell, the first color is a standard black with multicolored glitters in it. It reminds me a lot of the color Eiffel from the Sigma Paris palette. I use this color a lot to set my black liner, the downside is that I find lots of fallout if I don’t make sure to tap off the excess. The multicolored flecks aren’t super noticeable if you don’t put on too much. I find the more this color covers my lid, the more noticeable the glitters are. The second color is a deep gold color, in the picture it looks like the glitter pieces are black, but it was just because of the way the light was hitting it. In person, the glitters are chunky pieces of the same gold color. It looks like a glittery version of Smashbox’s eyeshadow in 24k. This color also had lots of fallout in it.

IMG_4546

This last color is Beware, it’s a matte finish brown color which I really like. Its a light brown color which I don’t think I have an exact dupe of in my current collection and is my favorite from this palette. This is a great transitional color for any look you decide to create using browns. I find that since this color is matte and is fairly close to my actual skin color, it makes a great contouring shade.

Overall, I really like this palette. It was really well put together and I found the colors are very usable on a day to day basis. The downside of course is since this palette is made up of mostly browns I have a lot of the same colors in my current collection already. The other downside is, just like the Glinda palette or any of the build-your-own palettes the mirror thing bothers me sometimes. I definitely like the exterior of this palette and also the super saturated lip color more than the one that came in the Glinda palette. I also find that I use the black liner more on a day to day basis rather than the purple liner that comes in the Glinda palette. If you don’t have a lot to your collection,and had to pick between the two, you might find that this palette is more useful everyday compared to the Glinda one. If I had to rate it, I would give it a 3/5, the only reason it is lower is because I already have so many of the colors despite loving the extras in this palette more.

I hope this helps!

Thanks and Take care,

Cookie

Leave a Reply

