Urban Decay Oz The Great and Powerful Glinda Palette

Hey Beauties,

So a couple weeks ago I went out and decided to finally purchase the Glinda and Theodora palette’s from the brand Urban Decay. I have been eyeing these babies online and in store since they came out and I have been hmm-ing and ha-ing for so long my Fiance told me to just do it. You all should know that I am a huge fan of Urban Decay products and I love how they stick by their policies (absolutely no testing on animals). I own and use some of their palettes already and the naked palettes have been cycled into my everyday use for awhile now. I’m generally a fan of matte colors but like to mix it up once in awhile. Before I begin, I would like to first and foremost thank you guys for taking time out of your day to read this, I know that there are tons of beauty blogs out there and I am glad that you (whoever you are) have stumbled upon mine and stayed long enough to read this post. I would also like to apologize for the lack of quality in the pictures that I am posting. My current camera is MIA as my fiance borrowed it, I am taking all the pictures with my iphone. If you all want, I can re-take the photos with my camera once I get it back, but I was so excited to share this info that I couldn’t wait any longer. =P

Image

The palette comes in a matching box and is the exact same size as their 6-color build your own palette’s. In fact, they are built exactly the same so if you ever use up all the shadows in the LE palette you can just replace them with their other shadows. They come with a super saturated high gloss lip color in Glinda, and a 24/7 glide on eye pencil in Rockstar.

Image

The palette looks super pretty and whimsical with yellows, pinks, purples and twinkling stars. Out of the two I definitely think that the Theodora palette looks more interesting case-wise.

IMG_4491

On the inside we are greeted with gorgeous incandescent colors. Top to bottom, left to right we have Tornado, Aura, Magic, Illusion, Oz, and South. One thing that some of you might find as a downside for the palette is that the top part of the palette that holds the mirror doesn’t stand up on its own, so in some cases you may have to one hand it.

IMG_4493 IMG_4494

I had seen some youtube gurus speak super highly of this product so I had such high hopes for it. I loved the texture of it but I found that the color was super unflattering on me. I can’t even dab it on my lips to try and make it look nice, and when I tried mixing it with other lip colors to try to find a happy medium I ended up just having to completely wipe it off and put something different on. I don’t know if it was just the natural color of my lips or what… But I was disappointed. Overall, I would try this product again since I liked the texture, but I definitely would have to go with a different color.

IMG_4496

Magic – This is a pearlescent pink with gold sparkles in it. I absolutely love this color and don’t have a color like this in my current collection. It reminds me of a lighter pink version of Makeup Forevers Star powder in Pink Gold 916 and Annabelle’s cheaper dupe Golden Pink. This color can definitely be used on the cheeks as well on top of a matte blush to highlight. On the left I have it without a primer and on the right I have it with smashbox’s photo finish lid primer.

IMG_4498 IMG_4500

This is Aura – On the left I have the top half of it and on the right I have the bottom half of it. There is a minimal difference between the two but the main difference is the one on the left has a purplish undertone and the one on the right has a more peachy/pink undertone. With the two swipes again the swipe on the left is without primer and the right is with primer.

IMG_4507

This is Tornado – It looks like the eyeshadow version of the eyeliner Rockstar that comes in the palette. Rockstar I believe is an eyeliner in the usual UD lineup so I didn’t swatch it, but its perfect to use to smoke out the eyeliner since it’s super close in color. Again, left swipe is without a primer and right swipe is with.

IMG_4511

This is Illusion – This color is a perfect color to use as a highlighter on the browbone for a more dramatic effect or on the inner corner of your eyes. I really like this color but I felt like I had a lot of colors similar to this one. So to me this color really wasn’t all that special. The nice thing is that it came in this palette so if you were already using it, this gives you quick access rather than pulling out multiple items.

IMG_4513 IMG_4516

This is Oz – This has to be my favorite color from this palette. On the left we have the top half which is a white gold color with silver glitters in it, and on the right we have the bottom half which is a bright silver color with silver glitters in it. I find that without the primer both had a lot of fallout because of the chunky glitter pieces. If youre not a huge fan of fallout then I would steer clear of this color or be sure to tap off all excess before applying.

IMG_4517

This is South – It’s a glittery taupe color. The glitter pieces in this is also chunky so again, if youre not a huge fan of fallout I would suggest to stay away. Otherwise I really like this color, I think this color would look perfect in the crease with the silver color in oz on the lid.

Overall, I was pleased with this palette. I felt that UD did a good job with the execution, the colors definitely remind me of someone angelic or innocent. I love the texture of their shadows and I always feel like they go on smooth and pigmented with or without primer. Of course, adding primer gives it that extra oomph of color and it’s more likely to last the entire day without smudging or wearing out. I love that they made the palette like the build your own palettes so you can reuse the custom casing… I don’t like that I would have to one hand it if I ever needed the mirror and I don’t particularly enjoy the fallout. The colors are beautiful and they definitely picked colors that you could build a look with just using the ones in it.

If I had to give it a rating it would score a 4/5.

If you all would like me to do a review like this for the Theodora palette please let me know, I’ll be more than happy to : )

Take care,

Cookie

4 thoughts on “Urban Decay Oz The Great and Powerful Glinda Palette

Leave a Reply

